How to Make Amazing Mud Masks at Home

Rhassoul is a clay that is dug in the Atlas mountains in Morocco. Rhassoul is, like other cosmetic clays, rich in minerals like silica, potassium and magnesium. You can use it as a cleanser and deep conditioner for your hair or you can make an amazing mud mask with it that will revile any high end salon. Below are my favorites Rhassoul recipes I’ve created and work for me.


Mud Masque for Hair

  • 2 TB Rhassoul Clay
  • 2 TB Coconut Oil
  • 1 TB Raw Honey
  • 2 tsp Jojoba Oil
  • 4 TB Water

Add honey and coconut oil in a bowl and hand mix until smoothed together. In a separate container mix rhassoul clay, jojoba oil and water with a spoon until it is smooth with the consistency of lotion. Add both mixtures together and then handmix. I like to let it sit in a room temperature for a few hours. Before applying I mix with my finger and then start applying to freshly cleaned hair. I apply at the ends then apply down from the roots. I twist large sections lightly until whole head is complete. I add a shower cap and then let it sit on my hair for 30 minutes. I rinse out (it will look dirty because of the mud!) and my hair comes out springy and conditioned. I finish with Flax Seed Gel/Glycerin Spritz and Shea butter whip. Serving: 1

Mud Masque for Face

  • 1/2 TB Rhassoul Clay
  • Jojoba Oil
  • Water

I like to use a small bowl and mix with my finger. I start with clay and then add the jojoba oil on top. You want the clay to be saturated so if you need more continue to add drops. Once it looks dark brown it is time to add the water. You want to to turn into a smooth, coffee colored, lotion-like consistency so add water slowly and make sure all the lumps are out. Smooth all over your face avoiding your eyebrows and eyes. Let it sit on your face for 10 minutes or until dry. You will feel it tighten your face as it dries on your Rinse with warm water and finish with cool water. Serving: 3-4 washes

Mud Peel

  • 1/2 TB Rhassoul
  • Gelatin (half of one packet)
  • Water/Milk/AVJ

You can also make a Mud Peel by using gelatin and pour in gelatin until it becomes a clumpy and runny consistency. Microwave for like 5-10 seconds. It should be a thick, gummy like consistency once it comes out. If it is too runny add more gelatin and microwave for 5 seconds. Be very careful to avoid eyebrows (this can remove hair!). I let this dry for 10-15 minutes, then slowly peel off. This is sort of intense because it can stick pretty heavily but it can pull out blackheads and hair. Read more about it here. A lot of recipes use milk but it has worked with aloe vera juice and water for me. Serving: 1


How have you used Rhassoul Clay?


 

Leave a Reply

