Coconut Oil

via Draxe


What is it? is an edible oil extracted from the meat of matured coconuts It has various applications in food, medicine, and industry. Because of its high saturated fat content it is slow to oxidize and, thus, resistant to rancidification, lasting up to two years without spoiling.

Where do I buy it? Trader Joe’s has good deals on it but you can normally find it at any local grocery store or purchase on Amazon.

When should I use it? after moisturizing with a water or a water based product to seal in the moisture.

How do I use it? you can mix it with other products but the beauty of coconut oil is that you can just rub it in you hands and apply directly to hair. It has a low melting point so it will liquify in warm conditions so watch out for that. My favorite is to mix it with aloe vera gel. I have had experiences where it can build up on my scalp so I’d recommend applying it to the hair only. It is often found in conditioners and it’s slip can be used as a detangler.

Why use it? Hydrophobic oil characteristics allow it to inhibit the penetration of water from the surrounding air and environment and it can reduce protein loss in hair.


 What have you experiences been with shea butter?resources: WikipediaBGLH

Leave a comment